Best Astrological Tips: Astrology – themedideas Facts & Figures

  • Wednesday, December 19th, 2012
The 12 signs (Rashis) of the Zodiac

1. Aries (Mesha) – The Ram

2. Taurus (Vrisha) – The Bull

3. Gemini (Mithun) – The Twins

4. Cancer (Karkat) – The Crab

5. Leo (Simha) – The Lion

6. Virgo (Kanya) – The Maiden

7. Libra (Tula) – The Scales

8. Scorpio (Vrischika) – The Scorpion

9. Sagittarius (Dhanu) – The Archer

10. Capricorn (Makar) – The Goat

11. Aquarius (Kumbha) – The Water bearer

12. Pisces (Meen) – The Fish

Each sign is described according to its general nature such as The Ram, The Bull etc.

A lot of people become confused by the difference in their signs according to the Indian and Western Astrology. In Indian Astrology, one’s sign (rashi) depends on which sign the Moon was in at the time of birth (Moon sign). In Western Astrology, one’s sign is determined by which sign the Sun was in at the time of birth (Sun sign). There is 1 in 12 chance that both could be same if the Moon was in the same sign as the Sun at the time of birth. But the chance of them being different, however, is 11 in 12. The ascendant (lagna) could be any one of these 12 signs. It is calculated from the time of birth. Each day, around the time of sunrise, the ascendant sign starts with the sign the Sun is in, and progresses to the next sign in the Zodiac approximately every 2 hours or so. Therefore, it moves through all the 12 signs till the sunrise next day. It is very rare to have the same ascendant, Moon and Sun signs.

The 12 signs (Rashis) are divided according to the 4 elements

The signs are grouped into four according to the 4 elements Fire (Agni), Earth (Prithvi), Air (Bayyu) and Water (Jal) in that order. The Fire and Air signs are considered as positive, extrovert and masculine signs (self-expressive); while the Air and Water signs are considered as negative, introvert and feminine signs (self-containing).

The Fire (Agni) signs include Aries (Mesha), Leo (Simha) and Sagittarius (Dhanu) with the characteristics of enthusiasm, drive to express self, self-belief, self-respect, ideas, pioneering, faith etc. The “Leader” signs.

Earth (Prithvi) signs include Taurus (Vrisha), Virgo and Capricorn (Makar) with the characteristics of practicality, materialistic, self-upliftment, caution, scepticism etc. The “Materialist” signs.

The Air (Bayyu) signs include Gemini (Mithuna), Libra (Tula) and Aquarius (Kumbha) with the characteristics of communication, socialisation, abstract thinking, conceptualisation etc. The “Intelectual” signs.

The Water signs include Cancer (Karkata), Scorpio (Vrischika) and Pisces (Meen) with the characteristics of emotion, empathy, sensitivity etc. The “Humane” signs.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

Tags: , , , , , ,


There are no comments yet, add one below.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Gynaecology / Gynecology

Services O&G Health


error: Content is protected !!